Happy Feet

Every time I stretch in that relieving head-to-knee pose sitting on the floor, stretching out my hamstrings and back, I find myself giving my feet a little rub. You’re supposed to grab your foot to gently pull your torso towards your leg, and in that moment of deep relaxing stretch I have begun the practice of massaging the foot that I’m holding. It feels amazing and reminds me that I used to give myself a little foot rub each night before bed! Just about a minute per foot, with a little pump of lotion, so that I woke up with relaxed, soft, HAPPY FEET! 🙂

Well it got me to thinking…how much do our feet endure everyday? I know I’ve read the literature before, but the alarming relief I felt from such a quick little rub up and down my own foot (and anyone who’s ever given their own feet a massage knows it can’t hold a candle to one given by another person – what is that? It’s sort of like when someone else makes you a sandwich it always tastes better than the same one made by yourself. Hmmm…) urged me to look up some more information. I did, and thought I’d share it with you lovely folks!

 

Check out the number of bones, tendons, muscles, joints and nerves we walk around with in these puppies!

http://www.healthcommunities.com/foot-anatomy/foot-anatomy-overview.shtml

 

Good reason to give them a little rub down in thanks for carrying us around all day, right? 🙂 One step closer to happy feet!

Leave a Reply

