Thank Gosh it’s ________!!!

Hello Beautiful World,

I just have to say, I was almost about to say, “Thank Gosh it’s Friday!!!” Then I remembered, I’m a college student working in retail, my Friday is practically nonexistent. So, I’m liberating us from being tied to only ONE day about which we can say, “WOOHOO THANK GOSH IT’S _____!!!” Instead, you take that blank and do whatever you gosh darn well please with it. I’m freeing you from four days of effort, chugging away to make it to Friday, then speeding through blissful Saturday and Sunday before placing a big load of daunting dread back onto poor Monday. Let’s redesign this whole scenario.

For instance, tomorrow just so happens to be my “Friday” and not even in the general sense. I switched out of my Sunday shift so I could go on a (MUCH NEEDED) spa day retreat with one of my best girlfriends. That means I will work tomorrow, be off Sunday, and embark upon my last quarter of College on monday. Sooooo, sort of like a Friday. But that’s just it…I am not going to let the societal standard of “work, work, work, work, work, play, play, begin again” get me down. I’m going to be so bold as to say, “Thank Gosh it’s TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” Okay, maybe more exclamation points than were necessary, but you get the picture.

Yeah, I have to work today. Yes, I also have only a few more days of freedom before a very challenging quarter begins. But I refuse to be sucked into the black hole of dread that has become a trained cycle in our daily lives. The rush to make it to Friday, then the anxiety that the weekend is passing too quickly, followed by the dread of Monday’s arrival and beginning it all again. Let’s get off that ride, right now.

In a perfect world the weekday would be three days long and the weekend would be four. And perhaps there would be days in between spacing out the workweek, or perhaps not. That’s my perfect world, off the top of my head, but everyone’s will look different. So perhaps it’s safe to say in a perfect world everyone would man their own schedule. Sounds a bit like chaos, yes? Well, bear with me. Let’s hypothetically create our own worlds. Let’s boldly take the reins and find reason to be “fourteen exclamation points excited” about this very day, this very moment. Unless there’s a boatload of stress, anxiety and foreboding resting on your shoulders for some big court date, foreign commute, huge meeting…is there really any reason to be so filled with dread? I think not. Hopefully, seeing as it is Friday today and for most of the working world that signals near freedom, this will be an easier pill to swallow right now.

Make this your goal, if you want, for Monday. Make an effort to meet that day with calm and respect. Think of this coming week (which will be challenging for me, considering the first day of my final quarter commences Monday) as a gift, an opportunity to alter our thinking when it comes to the standard “work week.” If you commute on public transit, perhaps bringing a new magazine or book, or listening to a playlist of music you’d typically listen to when getting ready to go out on a Saturday night. Change the way you feel about Mondays…and Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. Think about what excites you on a moment to moment basis. Making it home in the evening for the big slobbery greeting from your black lab? Then popping in the DVD you didn’t finish watching over the weekend and having a glass of wine? Excellent. Maybe it’s lunch because you’re going to treat yourself to your favorite. Or perhaps it’s Wednesday when you get to take your favorite exercise class. My challenge to you is not only to identify those excitements, but to avoid the sense of urgency to get there. Enjoy that something in your life is giving you that electrified feeling of thrill! That feeling of, “Oh I can’t wait for that,” is a blessing.

So step two will be to identify that feeling and then cherish it in the moment, take it with you, bring that feeling into all the things you have to do in the meantime. Typing up documents at work, going to the grocery store, all of these mundane activities are the carriers that lead you to things of extreme bliss. Because if everything in your life were extremely blissful, nothing would stand out, and even the extremely blissful would become mundane.

I bought a 2012 calendar yesterday (for $13.99 which I felt like was a splurge, in the realm of calendars, just saying…) and it is called “Emotional Freedom – Liberate Yourself from Negative Emotions and Transform Your Life.” RIGHT? How could I not buy that. So, I will leave you today with January 2012’s nugget of wisdom, printed over a pastel image of blushing roses: “View your emotions in a non-ordinary way: as vehicles for transformation rather than simply as feelings that make you happy or miserable. Expect them to test your heart; that’s the point. What you go through – what we all go through – has a greater purpose. Always, the imperative of emotional freedom is for the love in us to evolve.”

Leave a Reply

