Excerpt from Caren’s Blog “TEA & TOAST”

I saw my favorite yoga teacher’s tweet about a sweet review of her Aim True DVD. So I went to the review and left my own likeminded comment. After scrolling down, I saw this post on the woman’s blog. I felt it was something I might share (because I too have meals at my laptop and while watching tv!).

This is the blog site where I found the below post: http://www.tntoast.com/

 

“Mindful eating is a practice of being hyper aware of what you’re eating as you’re eating it. It takes the idea of savoring your food to a whole new level. The goal is to consume slower, consider what you taste, smell and feel as you’re eating your food and focus only on the food on your plate (ie, no distractions … and I know I’m not the only one here who eats while staring blindly at their laptop screen, right?). The result is that you eat less overall without any sense of deprivation. Sign me up! 

Hah!  It’s not as simple as it sounds. If you’ve ever tried to meditate for even a hot minute, you know how difficult it is to challenge your mind and body to sit still. Well, your mouth shares the same sort of attention span as your brain. It’s tricky, but not undoable. 

This NY Times article offers a few quick and dirty suggestions:

  • Unplug everything.  Just eat.
  • If you’re eating with your family, request that the first 5 minutes, everyone eat in silence.
  • Think about your food as you’re eating it.  Who made it?  Where did it come from?  What is it?  How was it farmed?  
  • Chew slowly.
  • Do what you can – there will be meals that will need to be scarfed down quickly, but take advantage of the practice when you can.”
Leave a Reply

