Overnight Oats!

I discovered this amazingness on Pinterest, so I cannot take credit, however it makes this oatmeal nut CRAZY happy to have finally given Overnight Oats a go!!!

I used a recycled almond butter jar and last night I combined 1/2 cup old fashioned oats, 2/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk and 1/2 cup nonfat fage greek yogurt. I capped the jar and went to bed.

This morning I gave it a quick stir and added 1/2 cup plain pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie mix! That’s loaded with sugar!), 2 tbsp almond butter (less is fine, I just love me some almond butter) and 1 tsp local honey (adds a hint of sweetness but MORE importantly: allergies be gone!!!!!!!!!).

The result was DELICIOUS. OMGDELICIOUS. Also, I got halfway through and was STUFFED. This is technically one “large” serving, and they’re not kidding. The great part about using a jar though is that you can cap it and save the rest for later! Super healthy, protein PACKED, super filling, delicious and, greatest of all, QUICK AND EASY! Can you beat a nutritional powerhouse that takes literally 3 minutes to prepare? Nope 🙂 BodyKarmaBellaRasa is happy!

4 thoughts on “Overnight Oats!

  1. Here I am again haha! Are “old-fashioned” oats different than quickoats? (I’m thinking that old-fashioned are the longer cooking ones, correct?). And what is “fage” yogurt? Sorry for all my questions! 🙂

  2. Keep the questions coming Coleen, they’re more than welcome! We learn through one another, after all 🙂
    Old fashioned oats are healthier and less processed than quick oats, and old fashioned oats must be used in this recipe because of the overnight refrigeration.
    I have tried this recipe with steel cut oats as well (the absolute “healthiest” version of oats, the very least processed) and they were still a bit crunchy and hard to digest in this recipe.
    FAGE yogurt is a brand of greek yogurt that is very high-quality. I would just aim to get a brand of nonfat, green yogurt with as high of a protein content as possible (I buy the nonfat because it’s easiest for me to digest, but nutritionists say the 2% FAGE greek yogurt is a “perfect food” when eaten alone in that it provides the ideal combination of fat, carbs and protein for a satiating meal).
    http://www.fageusa.com/

    Hope this helps!

  3. awwww awesome! I’m in Canada, so we don’t have Fage but have many other brands of organic, Greek-style yogurt so I’m good to go then! Can’t wait to try this! Thank you!

    • Yay! Okay I look forward to hearing how it turns out for you! It’s especially yummy with the honey, pumpkin puree and almond butter…though the variations are endless. I love it with banana and peanut butter or just strawberries and blueberries. Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

