Perceiving Posture

Perceiving, observing, forgetting, achieving…all of these actions can easily precede the word “posture.” Hopefully we can retract “forgetting” from that list, although as explored in the Yoga Journal article below, busy folks all too often forget to maintain proper posture. 

I’ve realized in my time in a job where I spend the day on my feet with my head slightly tilted down looking at a screen that posture is of extreme importance. It’s part of the ergonomic mindset in my company that keeps me aware, as well as my yoga practice and also my height. I’m 5’10’ and girls of my stature oftentimes slouch to make themselves stand at eye level for the average person. Not cool. I have stopped doing that, in fact my parents always gingerly reminded me to sit and stand up straight for the health of my ever-grateful spine. Between that and the solid foundation of healthy physically habits promoted by my workplace, posture has grown to be a key component of my physiological wellness. Truthfully, “you have excellent posture” might be one of my very favorite compliments 🙂 

That being said, let’s all make a pact to focus a bit more on our posture. The head weighs about 10 lbs, and think how much time we spend tilting it forward on its axis, looking down at books, screens, phones, and the ground. Perhaps since it’s imperative that we lean forward for jobs, looking where we’re going, communicating technologically, we ought to focus in every spare moment of rest on aligning ourselves properly. The below article discusses yogic measures that can be taken to increase the strength, curvature and flexibility of the spine. In the bit of introduction that preceded this article in my email was the lovely synopsis of how to spot poor posture and why we ought to correct it:

Observing Posture

We probably have all been told at one point or another that good posture is one of the keys to physical health. But we rarely think about our own posture or observe others’ postures.

Today, sit in a public place and watch people’s posture as they walk, sit, and stand. What do you see? Are there patterns that emerge when you watch a variety of people?

In particular, note the relationship of the head to the spine. Is the head balanced naturally on the neck, or does it lean forward? Are the ears directly over the shoulders or forward of them? What effect might this have on someone’s back and neck muscles?

Sometimes observation is the first step toward change. Now that you’ve seen how this slumped posture can cause pain in the body, consider walking taller with an erect spine and your shoulders rolled back and down.”

 

Remember, a flexible spine is a flexible mind 🙂 this goes for a happy and aligned spine making for a happy and aligned mind, as well! Namaste beautiful souls.

 

http://www.yogajournal.com/practice/541?utm_source=DailyInsight&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=DailyInsight

Leave a Reply

