Yoga: Keeping Healthy & Happy Joints

I am a self-professed “hypochondriac.” Anytime I get an ache or pain, something in my mind hypes it up so much that I begin to toss and turn in waves of “OH NO, HOW DID THIS HAPPEN!” and “WILL THIS PAIN FOREVER STAY?!” and “WILL I EVER AGAIN BE ABLE TO ______!?” This is not an ideal reaction. This only makes matters worse.

So, in the effort to “manifest miracles” (as Jennifer Pastiloff so wonderfully phrases it) I am going to start sending healing energy to the parts of me that develop aches or pain. I’m going to start saying to them, “It won’t be long now,” and bathe my body in gratitude for the work it does for me and whatever harm it may have encountered. 

I’m also going to continue to educate myself, and excitedly look forward to my 2013 YogaWorks education (the cream of the crop, and “Harvard” of Yoga schools, I’ve been told time and time again!) where I’ll learn true alignment, anatomy and proper postures. In the meantime, I found this article very helpful. Yoga Journal offers the most complete and spectacular wealth of knowledge, and I have read countless articles of theirs, so I urge you to go to their website. It’s essentially like the “Encyclopedia of Yoga.”

This is the article that I found to calm me down and educate me on how to avoid further inner knee pain:

http://blog.gaiam.com/blog/4-yoga-poses-mistakes-that-can-cause-knee-pain/

Gaiam is wonderful and I have had some questions answered simply by their descriptions of how to avoid knee pain in some of the most COMMON yoga poses! My knee is responding well to R.I.C.E. (rest, ice, compression, elevation) but I’m very active and work on my feet all day, so I know part of it is just being kind and compassionate with my aches and pains. 

Having a strong home practice is divine, but when aches or pains arise I oftentimes want to blame myself for something I didn’t fully understand…when the truth of the matter is the pain quite likely originated someplace off the mat! Either at work, on my bike, rock climbing, sleeping funny…our bodies are strong and yet sensitive, let’s be kind and patient with them, and most of all grateful for what beautiful machines they are.

Do you have any aches or pains that you find yourself being impatient with? Have you found any online database that seems to over solace or a wealth of knowledge?

Leave a Reply

