Taking “Ice Cream” to a Whole New Level

Are your ready for this? I wasn’t. This taste sensation blew ME away.

First and foremost, maca??? AMAZING-NESS IN SUPERFOOD FORM!!!! Two of my favorite things…superfoods and amazing tastes. Win-win!
Tonight was girl’s night, I made my best friend and I a delicious quinoa salad for dinner and this amazing “ice cream” for dessert.

Dinner was:

Quinoa with yellow onion, green kale, red bell pepper, carrot, celery, jalapeño, black beans, cherry tomatoes, sriracha, lemon juice and garlic salt. YUMMERS! And a protein powerhouse.

Image

For dessert we had my newly inspired “Chocolate Banana Maca PB ‘Ice Cream.'” This gets a little crazeballs.

Image

For dessert we had my newly inspired “Chocolate Banana Maca PB ‘Ice Cream.'” This gets a little crazeballs.

This recipe serves two:

2 frozen bananas

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

2 TBSP maca powder

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp organic creamy peanut butter (or PB2, but note, there is added sugar in this! I didn’t realize till afterwards…eek!)

1 tbsp cacao powder

Image

This is the AMAZING Raw Maca powder I’m in love with. It’s a powerhouse of nutrients, a Mayan superfood, AND it has a malt-like rich, decadent toffee flavor. MMM!!!

Now, a note on the powdered Chocolate Peanut Butter…

Image

I’m going to be perfectly honest, I was skeptical about this. I figured immediately that it was too processed, and I also love nut butter hard so I was uninterested in a powder version of something so amazing. However, after talking with some big fans of this stuff, I was convinced that it’s a nice addition to certain mixtures and shakes for flavor and protein without the extra creaminess and fat.

Now, if you know me at all and/or subscribe to my blog, you know I’m an almond butter fanatic. I eat the stuff every day and have been known to ingest up to 6 tbsp in a day – seriously. I love it. I’ll find any excuse to include it in a meal. I also love avocado, creamy organic peanut butter, tahini, coconut. I’m a healthy fats loving girl.

This product has just three ingredients, 5 grams of protein and delivers awesome flavor. The directions say to mix it with water and use as a PB replacement but, as I’m an avid real nut butter lover, I’ll save real almond butter for eating and this powdered goodness for “ice creams,” smoothies and oatmeal. (*Note: this product has sugar, which I didn’t realize upon buying it, and as I opt to buy nothing with added sugar, I will not be buying it again…despite the success of this recipe!).

Anywho, just thought y’all might be interested in our delicious eats of the evening. I’ll be back tomorrow with more than just food 😉 but let’s face it, I love food, so I’m not making any promises! Goodnight friends, namaste.

Leave a Reply

