Buddha-nature

I am going to throw a curve ball blog post into the Universe this morning, that will hopefully turn out to be profound in its brevity? Well, one can hope ūüėČ

This morning I checked my gmail, as I always do, and was met by some lovely bits of wisdom from my beloved Yoga Journal newsletter. One of the tidbits was titled “Pretending Enlightenment.” I received it yesterday on my iPhone, and had reserved it to be read this morning with fresh eyes and perspective.

This is quite literally what the email blurb said:

Image

 

From the very first line this got me thinking‚ĶI had an image (perhaps due to my sleepy, still-waking-up mindset) of a closet. “The way you keep your mind,” alludes to having power and choice as to how one keeps one’s mind. It’s so true, and yet we often forget it! We have just as much power of how we keep our mind as we do our closets. I personally am flustered, frustrated and stressed out by a haphazard closet. I’m affected similarly with my mind is chaotic. Hmmm, now I’m seeing the connection. The power of a bad mood is¬†strong. I¬†have experienced being grumpy and somehow attracting further grumpiness into my path. So directing one’s energy in the opposite direction, that of the positive,¬†(as my very favorite documentary suggests, The Secret, illuminating¬†the brilliance of Self-actualization) seems the obvious solution, right?

It’s easier said than done. We can’t fight off every bad mood and we oughtn’t try. Truly¬†feeling a grumpy mood allows us to acknowledge, respect, and then bid farewell to the emotion. Every emotion ought to be respected and acknowledged, but some must be let go while others are kept (jealousy vs joy, grumpiness vs elation, negativity vs gratitude). We all have “those days,” but by “thinking [ourselves] into an enlightened state [we manifest] a particularly clever way of countering the negative tendencies of the mind.”¬†

The concept of “enlightenment” is vast. It’s something that makes me think of Buddha, of Siddhartha meditating beneath the tree, of divine Yogis who’ve dedicated their lives to Self-realization.¬†

This little Yoga Journal blurb has opened my eyes a bit wider, though. I mean, wouldn’t want to “shift the neuronal pathways that create all the ‘enemies’ of [one’s] happiness?!”

I love the line emphasizing that this practice of “fake it till you make it” enlightenment is strictly beneficial to the Self, the intention focused solely one one’s own quest for positive thoughts, “not to claim a mastery you don’t possess.”¬†

I simply wanted to share this bit of wisdom and suggest that, together, we try today to cultivate an enlightened state in our own minds. May we practice this sophisticated exercise for our¬†Selves¬†and our Selves¬†alone. It might feel silly at first but remember, this is not an egotistical claim at a proficiency we have not attained. It is not a sweeping claim or a haughty attempt to feel wise. This is simply us, bringing to light our inherent ability to connect to the Universe. Our “Buddha-nature,” as¬†Yoga Journal refers to it, truly is¬†something at our core.It only requires our tapping into it! We don’t have to create it, it already exists within us, we just have to command its presence. Wake it up. Our Self/Buddha-nature is, after all, what gives us the power to be “effortlessly joyous, free, and utterly connected to all that is.”

Namaste.

The full Yoga Journal article can be read here:

http://www.yogajournal.com/wisdom/1766?utm_source=Wisdom&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=Wisdom

Image

Leave a Reply

