Add Some Deliciousness to Your Day

It’s time for a few recipes, I’ve been a cookin’ and bakin’ fool (more so than usual) lately, and figured I’d share some of my taste bud discoveries here for all of my fellow wellness enthusiasts. Because, after all, what’s better than something HEALTHY that’s also DELICIOUS? That’s what I thought.

Below you will find four meals (including dessert because, let’s face it, if I’m at home I make myself dessert every night – I get my iron through my cocoa powder! Hehehe such a wonderful excuse…) that were all created, respectively, within the span of two days. So very recent creations!

Note: Super foods are abundant in these recipes :o)

Breakfast
Pumpkin Maca Chia Oatmeal:

1/2C rolled oats + 1C cold water + 1T whole chia seeds + 1T maca powder + 1/2Cish pumpkin puree,

then I added a sprinkle of cardamom, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a good long drizzle of rice milk (that was promptly soaked up by the amazing superfood chia seeds!). Mmm mmm warm and delicious!

Image

Lunch

Shmorgishborg Salad:

Organic baby spinach +

1 steamed purple potato +

My greek yogurt dip (FAGE greek yogurt + distilled white vinegar + spices and diced veggies of choice) +

1 baby avocado +

1 big ‘ol squirt of stone ground mustard (weird, I know, I love mustard) +

then a sprinkle of Himalayan pink sea salt + fresh lemon juice + black pepper + dill + my special blend of Maui spices. Mmm! Shmorgishborg goodness.

 

Dinner

Salmon with Creamy Pumpkin Yogurt Sauce over Kale and Quinoa:

Self-explanatory to an extent…make a bed of quinoa and kale 🙂 over which goes…

1 filet of baked or broiled salmon (I crusted it with the aforementioned Maui spices) +

3/4-1C quinoa +

Big handful of Kale

Then for the sauce…

1/2C each of FAGE 0% Greek Yogurt + Pumpkin Puree, whisked together with a splash of distilled white vinegar, garlic powder, pink Himalayan sea salt, and black pepper.

The sauce then went in dollops over the kale and quinoa, then I laid the salmon atop that, and topped my fish with the remaining sauce. Voila! DELISH.

Image

 

Now for the last, but definitely not least, meal…(SUPERFOOD ALERT!)…

DESSERT

Cherry Dark Chocolate Coconut Pudding:

1T mesquite powder + 1 heaping T cocoa powder (unsweetened) OR cacao powder + 2T shredded coconut + 1/2C frozen dark cherries + 2 heaping T creamy almond butter + unsweetened chocolate almond milk (to desired consistency) + orange zest (to taste) + pinch of stevia (may substitute raw honey or coconut nectar for thicker sweetness).

Mmm superfood dessert 🙂

 

 

If you try any of these, please let me know how you liked them! I’d also be thrilled to hear any substitutions or alterations you might have made. Happy cooking, friends!

Leave a Reply

