Attempt #1: Healthy Protein Mug Cake

By “attempt #1,” I mean the finished product, while delicious, wasn’t photo worthy. Teehee. I will have to keep experimenting (happily) with this amazeballs recipe.

  • 1T liquid egg whites

  • 1/2t baking soda

  • 1 Scoop Raw Vegan Protein Powder

  • 1T PB2 (chocolate variety)

  • Sprinkle of Stevia

  • 1T Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

  • Sprinkle of Pink Himalayan Sea Salt

  • 2T almond milk* (I’m afraid there wasn’t enough liquid in this recipe, so either one more egg quite or a bit more almond milk was necessary).

First mix all of the dry ingredients, then add the wet and mix again. Microwave for a minute (although this can be done in the oven too if using a ramekin/oven safe mug – I don’t know yet about bake time, though). 

*Disclaimer: I gathered information for this recipe from many a different blog, so I can’t site just one, but there are tons of Mug Cake recipes out there to choose from. I made this one my own a little bit, but surely there are others like it. I’m waiting for Jess Sepel’s recipe to come out on her blog and then I’ll try/share that too!

Here are my ingredients and the batter. The resulting mug cake was delicious, though I added an extra 1T of PB2 and 2T of almond milk to mix and then eat, because it was so dry and clumpy. I didn’t add a pic of the finished product for obvious reasons, but it was delightful to the tastebuds and I’m excited to hone this recipe.

Image

6 thoughts on “Attempt #1: Healthy Protein Mug Cake

  1. It truly is! PB2 is an awesome American product, powdered PB with 85% less fat. It’s probably the most processed thing I consume haha. There’s a smidge of sugar added, of which I’m not fond, but it’s a great way to add flavor without all the fat (as I’m partial to almond butter and avocado and coconut instead).

    • Did some Googling today on powered pb.
      Wow, I must say. Love a scoop or 2 in my morning fruit smoothie 🙂 And now have to try this healthier version. Plus, found a sight that taste tested pb2 & trader Joe’s peanut floor.
      Taste and price leaned more to TJ’s. Plus, I can get it right down the street. Sweet! Ever try TJ’s? Tomorrow’s smoothie is going to be a blessing. Thank you again for opening my mind/eyes to this healthier alt to my beloved original pb (oops, that’s attachment 😉 but that’s a whole different subject :))

      • You are so cute!
        I’m so glad to share the goodness with you. There are two kinds, too, one is regular PB and the other is PB with unsweetened cocoa in it 😉 I love the first for things like PB Banana smoothies and lighter/healthier peanut sauces for thai dishes, and the latter for desserts and richer smoothies! I have a sensitive tummy and too high of a fat content gives me a belly ache, so PB2 is a fantastic discovery for me (as I typically get PLENTY of fat throughout the day from almond butter, nuts, seeds, coconut, avocado, etc.). The directions on the product say to mix 2T with water (also an EXCELLENT idea for backpackers!), though I usually mix it into dishes. I would like to try mixing it with a dash of almond milk too to make a “rich” sauce for my next protein mug cake 🙂 fun fun fun!
        Are you referring to Trader Joe’s? If so I will be in there soon as I was given a gift card for Christmas, woohoo!
        Enjoy, and let me know what you whip up with your PB2!

Leave a Reply

