My Pantry Staples

I’ve been asked before and, recently, was asked again, “What does a yogini, yoga teacher, health nut and holistic nutrition student keep in their pantry?”

Well, my friends, I will share with you today my answer to that. I offer it as purely informational and, if you seek it, potentially inspirational. What I stock in my pantry varies seasonally and by mood, but there are certainly some absolute staples I cannot go without.

My Pantry Staples:

  • Organic rolled oats
  • Organic oat bran
  • Quinoa/brown rice/lentils/dried beans (if tolerant)
  • Shelf stable almond milk (I much prefer making my own so as to avoid the icky additives, but alas, shelf stable almond milk is a LIFESAVER in a pinch. I always keep one on hand…)
  • Low sodium organic vegetable or mushroom broth (again, I’d like to make this myself, but shelf stable is a Godsend. I often use broth in place of oil when cooking)
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Spices and Herbs. My favorites: Cinnamon, Turmeric, Nutmeg, Cardamom, Cumin, Dill, Cayenne, Ginger, Garlic Powder, Thyme, Rosemary, Pink Himalayan Sea Salt, Black Pepper
  • Apple Cider Vinegar, White Vinegar and Unsweetened Rice Wine Vinegar.
  • Low Sodium Tamari
  • Extra virgin unrefined coconut oil
  • Cold-pressed extra virgin olive oil (buy in a dark glass bottle)
  • Superfoods: Hemp seeds, sprouted pumpkin seeds, sprouted sunflower seeds, sprouted almonds, sprouted hazelnuts, walnuts, chia seeds, flax seeds, goji berries, kelp powder, chlorella powder, maca powder, vanilla bean powder, mesquite powder, organic raw cacao and cacao nibs.
  • Almonds, alnuts, dates.
  • Almond butter
  • Coconut Butter
  • Desiccated coconut
  • Organic non-alkalized unsweetened cocoa
  • Raw organic honey (usually local) and stevia
  • Dulse, kelp granules, nori flakes and sea vegetables
  • Herbal tea

That about sums up my pantry staples. As I mentioned, this varies and it both shrinks and grows, but for the most part I always have the aforementioned items. As for the perishables, I’ll provide a list of staples there as well:

Perishable Staples:

  • Organic spinach, kale, chard, collards, romaine
  • Lemons!!!
  • Avocado
  • Frozen spinach and kale (great in smoothies), frozen edamame (if tolerant), frozen veggies (for emergencies and soups)
  • Fresh, organic seasonal fruit
  • Frozen berries, bananas and tropical fruit
  • Almond milk
  • Cucumbers, carrots, parsley; varied veggies like bell pepper, broccoli, cauliflower, eggplant, etc.
  • Garlic and ginger
  • Grass-fed organic greek yogurt and cottage cheese (if tolerant)
  • Happy eggs (meaning non-grain and soy fed, free-roaming, sunlight-loving, pastured hen/duck eggs)
  • Wild salmon (3x/week)
  • Sardines (wild-caught, BPA-free tin, in water or EVOO)

Naturally I may have forgotten many a staple but, for the most part, there you have it my friends. Wishing you, as ever, an abundance of health, joy and wellness!

xx

Namaste

Image

One thought on “My Pantry Staples

Leave a Reply

