Body Karma: Some of my Favorite Holistic Products

My business is called Body Karma, it is also the name of this blog. This title came from very simple roots. I have always believed in karma. Karma has played a huge role in my life and is a component of everything I do (and don’t do). That being said, I consider my body my temple. I refer to the body as one’s “sacred vessel.” It’s a house for our soul, during this life. It should be taken care of because, if it’s not, we will pay the price. What goes around comes around. The rule of karma, as applied to the body, is very simple. We get out what we put in. Our bodies work hard to maintain our survival, and they will be far more apt to continue this if we are loving, kind, caring and compassionate towards them. Thus, body karma 🙂

Self-care does not need to be complicated, overly expensive or time-consuming. Making subtle shifts and commitments are the key to developing a personal care routine that will last a lifetime.

I’m not a makeup girl, although I have a tube of mascara (that I’ve used once in a year) and an unopened eyeliner (haha). I used to wear makeup and in the last few years have just come to appreciate my bare face more than one with makeup on it. I think it’s super fun to play dress-up and get all girly, and I’m super girly on the day-to-day even without makeup, but I just find myself to look inauthentic with makeup on so I never reach for it. I do like the “eye pop” effect of a bit of mascara, though, and I buy organic, all-natural brands because of a commitment to nontoxic body care as well as having incredibly sensitive eyes. As for the rest of it, I like to rock some nail polish sometimes, I love wearing my perfume and I am a self-professed skincare adorer. So, in hopes of spreading the holistic wellness inspiration, here is a random compilation of some of my favorite products and practices…

John Masters Organics. Love ’em. Been really digging the haircare line as of late. Very nourishing and nearly 80% organic content. The line is also endorsed by the Queen of Green herself, Rachel McAdams. Jake Gyllenhaal too 😉

970058_764256723584828_2107443443_n

Mineral Fusion. I’m suuuuuper particular about which products I’ll use and which I won’t. Thus far, I like the polish and remover offered by Mineral Fusion. It still smells strongly but that’s kind of what you get with nail products. I don’t paint frequently but, when I do, I want something as nontoxic as possible.

1010109_764256753584825_6282546_n

Pacifica. Okay, I lalalaluuuuuuurve this perfume (the ONLY I’ll use, apart from pure essential oils), and just bought the lip gloss today. It’s creamy and nourishing with essential oils. Both are vegan, nontoxic, free of parabens, petroleum, FD&C color, etc. I dig it.

1510722_764256770251490_2060972401_n

DeVita. I cannot say enough good stuff about this product line. Totally vegan, cruelty-free, paraben free, primarily organic and formulated by a sweet gal with a cool story. I have super sensitive skin and have never had an issue with this line. I apply the SPF day creme every morning and the eye and night cremes each evening. Yummy delicious nourishing skincare.

1897668_764256680251499_13017406_n

Coconut Oil. I love this to moisturize my body. Unparalleled. Not married to the brand. Anything virgin, unrefined and organic essentially. Coconut oil is antimicrobial, antibacterial, intensely hydrating, can soothe psoriasis and eczema, and just plain smells divine. 

1912198_764256700251497_710624709_n

Neti Pot! That one got an exclamation point. Part of the traditional Ayurvedic self-care routine, neti is an unparalleled cleansing practice. It keeps the nasal passages clean and clear, helps prevent colds and is sincerely soothing for those with seasonal allergies. Think about this…the nose is our natural air filter (another reason to breathe in through the nose and out through the nose). It’s fab that we don’t have to breathe in all that gunk that would otherwise come streaming in our mouths, but it’s not so nice unless we cleanse our sweet little nasal passages periodically! Some folks thrive on once weekly, others daily, it depends on your constitution. Putting a cotton swab of coconut oil into the nasal passages to help rehydrate and replenish the sensitive tissue if you find the saline rinse to be drying.

1962716_764256633584837_570439381_n

Rosewater. Mother Nature’s toner! Hydrating glory mist. I travel with this and spritz it on my face to rehydrate when stuck in stagnant air (hello post-airplane rehydration!), to wake up my skin or simply to indulge in its rejuvenating scent. I always spray this on my face, neck and decolletage after the shower before slathering on my DeVita.

1970590_764256593584841_1204095646_n

MyChelle Fruit Enzyme Scrub. Exfoliation is essential to fresh, vibrant, rosy skin. Sloughing off the old, dead  cells rejuvenates and is one of the most anti-aging practices one can keep. I love this particular scrub and put it on at the start of a shower or bath so the enzymes can work on my skin for at least 5 minutes if not more. I love an epsom salt soak with this on my face for a good 20 minutes.

10150637_764256713584829_717531600_n

Well those were just a few of my steps. I also swear by a tongue scraper (another Ayurvedic practice) for mouth health and fresh breath, a body brush (yet another Ayurvedic tip) to stimulate circulation, slough off old skin cells and improve lymph flow, sesame oil foot massages and my homemade brown sugar body scrub. I mentioned epsom salt soaks above, but I can’t emphasize how healing, nourishing and replenishing they are. I put lavender oil in for extra relaxation and sometimes some organic bubble bath.

Remember, anything you put on your skin is absorbed directly into the system. It’s (almost) as good as having eaten it! So really aim for natural products. As organic as possible, as non-toxic as possible. If it’s a product that doubles as a kitchen ingredient, bonus points (just today I made a baking soda face mask and then used apple cider vinegar as a toner!). Our sacred vessels deserve just as much love on the outside as we give them on the inside; in short, put as much thought and care into the products you choose as you do the food you ingest! Your health will thank you, holistically 🙂 x x

Be well, Namaste.

Leave a Reply

